Local Authorities District Councils

2. DISTRICT COUNCILS

2.1 The rural authorities comprising the seven District Councils under which the Village Councils operate, provide essential services like public health and hold social and cultural activities, among others, in pursuance of their statutory obligations. The services and activities are organised under the same departments as in the Urban Councils, i.e. the Administration Department, Finance Department, Public Infrastructure Department, Land Use and Planning Department, Welfare Department and Public Health Department.

- 2.2 Provisions made under the various departments of the Municipal Councils are implementable in the District Councils as well, except if stated otherwise. In addition, these provisions made in the Introductory Chapter also are applicable to the District Councils.
- 2.3 The literature concerning the different District Councils as well as the salary schedules thereto related are hereafter presented.

Local Authorities District Councils

Local Authorities District Councils